Mini epiphanies

It’s no secret that some things have taken longer for me to understand than others. Reading, no. Dating, yes. Understanding power, no. Making peace with what’s beyond my control? Oh, yes.

But when the puzzle piece finally finds its slot, because of or in spite of my best efforts, there’s no chance to go back. You know it – whatever that it may be – and there’s no way to unknow. Forgetting is different; it’s the gift of distraction. When reminded, your knowledge is again front and center.

In the same month I felt my heart like newly crushed gravel in my mouth, I discovered that I loved teaching young children about art. The rest of the world moves past the bloody rocks and mini-Matisses , like you do, but I know and will always know where one it ended, and another began.

Leave a comment

Filed under endings, entropy, epiphany, heartbreak, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

