“tell me all about yourself”, kitchentable edition

A femmominist blog friend sent me a questionnaire all about one of my (guilty) favorite topics: myself.

I’ll answer, and perhaps someone will send her 5 million dollars euros.

Remove the blog in the top spot from the following list and bump everyone up one place. Then add your blog to the bottom slot, like so:

Mummy Musings
the epic of mom
The Informal Matriarch
blue milk
the kitchen table

What were you doing 10 years ago?

Leaving my first start-up company in Western MA to work for another in Boston.

What were you doing 1 year ago?

Languishing.

Five snacks you enjoy

  1. dark chocolate with a jar of peanut butter. Sometimes in a dish with a spoon.
  2. olive bread
  3. Rosie’s recipe thumbprint cookies
  4. iced black tea with lemon
  5. a peeled grapefruit

Five songs that you know all the lyrics to

Years ago, the challenge would have been to name five songs I didn’t know the lyrics to. Still, I surprised some colleagues (and myself) at my kareoke debut in Tokyo last November. I am teaching myself the lyrics to “Tears Dry on their Own” by the tragically superbly-piped Amy Winehouse.

  1. The Distance, Cake
  2. Born to Run, Bruce Springsteen
  3. From a Whisper to a Scream, Elvis Costello and the Attractions
  4. The Real End, Rickie Lee Jones
  5. I’ll Be Home for Christmas, US standard

Five things you would do if you were a millionnaire

  1. Give big gobs of money to organizations with feminist goals.
  2. Set up college funds for my nieces and nephews.
  3. Buy my mother a new home.
  4. Move to a progressive neighborhood.
  5. Run for political office with my own money.

Five bad habits

  1. Employing “scorched earth” techniques with the less than perfect.
  2. Being an openly resentful martyr.
  3. Caring what other people think.
  4. Falling in love with loud prints.
  5. Picking at schmutz on my toddler like a mama chimp.

Five things you like to do

  1. Talk.
  2. Sing and Dance!
  3. Cook for friends.
  4. Read.
  5. Go to the sea.

Five things you would never wear again

Oh, this is a tough one. Most of my fashion influence came early vis-a-vis my aunt’s issues of Glamour in the mid ’70s.

  1. Pegged pants.
  2. Buccaneer blouses.
  3. Dayglo socks
  4. Big horizontal stripes
  5. Feather earrings and Fair Isle sweaters, together – but only for health reasons. I’m such a closet “Glamour Don’t.

Five favourite toys

  1. My digital camera
  2. sketchbooks and micron pens
  3. the cd player/sunroof in my car
  4. my magnum peppermill
  5. my little red nano, though I think it could get higher up the list if I used it more often.

Five people I’m tagging (who I think may be good humoured enough to comply and who if they do, will come up with interesting and/or witty things to say) :

And here is where I’m stumped. I’ll update with 5 cool people who may not have been tagged yet.

2 Comments

Filed under me me me

2 responses to ““tell me all about yourself”, kitchentable edition

  1. Great list, I laughed, I cried. Actually I just laughed. Love the reminder of feather earrings. And I really did find out something new about you, guess the meme works.

  2. you know what was funny for me? Trying not to duplicate much of your list! It was fun; thanks for sending this along. I do need to find five likely participants.

Leave a Reply

