see and say

Driving behind a smoking car, I remembered the first time I spotted a fire in the woods on Blue Hill. I thought I saw smoke, and got out my father’s binoculars. With them, I could see the little tongues of flame cutting through the clouds. I ran to the phone and called the fire department, telling them what I was seeing from my living room window. Fire apparatus and firefighters made it there in about 30 minutes, as there was no real road to speak of on the side of the hill.

What if all of us learned to see and say – to pay attention to the world around us, and identify it, particularly when others were at risk? Or if others did a really great thing, otherwise unnoticed? You don’t have to be a toddler to be good at “see and say”.

Leave a comment

Filed under attentiveness, consciousness, observing, reporting

Leave a Reply

