trade secret: honesty and the press

I don’t usually write about work, but here is the secret to my success in public and press relations. I tell the truth. That doesn’t mean resorting to artless blurting, or revealing internal goings on. It’s more like this:

When I don’t know something, I say so.

When things aren’t good or you’ve made a mistake, I acknowledge it, apologize, and explain that people are looking for ways to make things better.

And above all, I remember that everything, particularly in the blogosphere, is on a permanently dereferencible (sp?) record. URIs are forever, baby.

…which means going to a phrase we say a lot at home as of late: use your words.

1 Comment

Filed under honesty, press relations, public relations, strategic communication, truth

One response to “trade secret: honesty and the press

  1. suggested spelling: dereferenceable, or dereferencable.

Leave a Reply

