dd specials or, making quick dinners from a full trader joe’s shopping bag

In our house, we often partake of what I called the “Dedham Dinner” or DD for short. The DD is my adaptation of the dinners my mother served us as children. The major differences between my meals and their 30 yo predecessors:

  1. My mother hated cooking; I love to cook.
  2. My mother did not like spices; I do
  3. My mother used a lot of hamburger; I’m a vegetarian, and
  4. Trader Joe’s

The variety and convenience of the foods they offer has reduced the time I spend shopping and cooking, a real benefit when one has a full time job plus a toddler who likes to pretend that he’s a monkey and Mama is a banana tree. Plus, the prices are reasonable.

I still shop around a bit for produce; the fresh fruit selections often disappoint, in part due to the packaging. That said, I’ve never had a problem with the veggies.

I’ll post some sample dinners in a few.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

