broadcast only

It was a hectic week workwise, housewise, and newsjunkie-wise, so I took a week off from posting. Instead, I read a lot. I was struck by the number of blogs with writers who know how to invite conversation. To me, that’s at the core of the Web – a bunch of people, connecting. Inviting. Listening.
But  there’s a lot of “broadcast only” mode, especially on some of the political channels I’ve picked up on the old receiver. It’s aggressive, screamacious, angry, and insufferable. (And I say that as an admitted partisan.) I wonder if it’s possible to find places where people of significantly different opinions can have a passionate but not insulting discussion… and if I would go there if I could.

Please feel free to suggest communities you like for conversation and lurking.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, civility, Learning, narcissists, news, Politics, public discourse, read-only, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

